When stuck in a creative rut or in need of new ideas...

Hi Everybody, hope you're all well.

With this post I wanted get people's feedback on what you do when either stuck in a creative rut or when your music is in need of some new sounds or a new approach.

As a bedroom producer I have on occasion found myself a little stuck for ideas or I find I can get too settled into a music making routine. This was the primary reason that over the last few months I have created a music platform called SoundShoots, which seeks to provide fresh inspiration to producers in a very simple way; by setting a new 'theme' every two weeks and challenging the SoundShoots community to respond to the theme however they like and with no creative constraints. For example the current theme is 'The Beach', which you can check out here.

By no means is SoundShoots a magic solution for all creative ruts, but I hope you find it an interesting approach for when either stuck for ideas or for when you want to venture out of your normal track making themes.

So I'm looking for feedback on what you do/what you have done in the past when looking for fresh ideas and to also hopefully drum up some SoundShoots interest too-having spent ages getting the thing built & tweaked I'm now looking to build up the community organically and thought this could be a good place to start!

Let me know your thoughts on both things...
Oliver

interesting concept...I'll definitely check it out.

when I hit a wall I normally handle admin issues (copyrights, finding new samples, cleaning up songs/tracks, etc..). If that doesn't help I'll think of an artist and create a song for them...in the same vein of your SoundShoots concept...

interesting concept...I'll definitely check it out.

when I hit a wall I normally handle admin issues (copyrights, finding new samples, cleaning up songs/tracks, etc..). If that doesn't help I'll think of an artist and create a song for them...in the same vein of your SoundShoots concept...