Time Signatures...???

Chew_Bear

1. Which time signatures are the "EASIEST" to start and learn with...???

2. Is most western dance music 4/4...??

3. Which time signatures are used by some of the most popular genres...???

Say: Pop, Hip Hop/Rap, R&B and Rock.

Thanks.

4/4
Its the most common in music, its also the most intuitive to understand and count.
When I started learning to play guitar, because I had trained myself to hear and count in 4/4 time as a Dj, it was hard for me to cope with other time signatures and rhythmic values.

Last edited:
1. Which time signatures are the "EASIEST" to start and learn with...???

2. Is most western dance music 4/4...??

3. Which time signatures are used by some of the most popular genres...???

Say: Pop, Hip Hop/Rap, R&B and Rock.

Thanks.

1) any unless you are hard wired to be in one particular time

2) in the last 70 years, yes, 4/4 is the most common time, prior to that it was 3/4, 2/4, 6/8 and 4/4 in equal measure

3) in the genres you quote 4/4 is the most common but we still have variations such as 2/4, 3/4, 6/8 and 12/8

Time signatures are tricky even for seasoned pros some times

2/4, 3/4, 4/4, 2/2, 3/2, 4/2 are all simple times (you can extend these out to 5/4, 7/4 etc.)

the top number tells you how many beats; the bottom number tells you the type of beat. The core feature of simple times is that the beat is divided into multiples of 2

If the top number is

2 we have simple duple time: 2 beats per bar
3 we have simple triple time: 3 beats per bar
4 we have simple quadruple time: 4 beats per bar

3/8, 6/8, 9/8, 12/8, 3/4, 6/4, 9/4, 12/4, 3/2, 6/2, 9/2, 12/2 etc are all compound times

The top number divided by 3 tells you how many beats there, the bottom number times 3 tells you the beat type. The core feature of compound times is that beat is divided into 3 first and then divided into multiples of 2

If the top number is

3 we have compound unity time: 1 beat per bar (typical waltz time)