Rnb Scales/Chords

S

S1Ncere

How do they make RnB tracks to sound like that? like the keys they use sounds so sad. I am pretty new with scales and chords, im just starting to learn it... i looked at this one sheet music from this one rnb song and it seems like theres alot of different keys.. how do you tell which chord they used on certain songs?

try putting chords in a particular key in different orders, but more than likely an r&b song has a bridge or change later on. try mixing up different chords tho. i tend to use mainly inverted maj 7ths and min 7ths cuz those chords sound good 2 me. sound effects are the key to bringing out a r&b song too.

S1Ncere said:
How do they make RnB tracks to sound like that? like the keys they use sounds so sad.
It's not the keys. It's the chords. Minor chords have a sad quality to them. Play a Cmajor chord (C-E-G), then play a Cminor chord (C-Eb-G) and hear the difference.

I am pretty new with scales and chords, im just starting to learn it... i looked at this one sheet music from this one rnb song and it seems like theres alot of different keys..
I would guess that most songs are in only one key. You can tell what key a song is in by the number of sharps/flats in the key signature at the very beginning of the song.

how do you tell which chord they used on certain songs?
A lot of sheet music will actual write the chords along the top of the standard notation. Look above the staff lines in each measure and you should see "CMaj" or "Emin7" for example.

What's an "inverted major 7th"? What's inverted? lol Anywayz, solid major and minor scales with a major 7th and minor 7th and even major and minor 6th chords cover 90% of R&B tracks... Adding 9ths and the "inversions" of certain notes are breaking into the jazz/neosoul realm of R&B. A typical and basic starting point for a sequence of chords is to use the "circle of fourths". For example, if your home chord is C, you go up to F, then G, then back to C. Fa sho, keep it so fo real