Remixing

euretro

I make original music of my own, but I also want to get into remixing. My question is how do you get the raw material to remix? Do you just take the complete track and chop it up, or can you get the original seperate tracks on Dat? I've heard that the latter is true in most cases. But how does someone who is not famous get a hold of the original tracks?

This goes for anything from old funk and soul to new dance mixes - small and large labels.

Thanks!

I am new to all this music recording stuff and have not re-mixed any songs yet. However, have you tried re-creating the song in your sequencer?

Of course, you can't get the original sounds and vocals but I guess you could produce a decent re-mix with your own beats and effects.

Let us know what you end-up finding out as I am very interested in remixing tracks too.

Well, I know a guy who has done it. He has his own record label - and there's the secret. If you are somewhat established in the biz, you can ask the record label of the artist who you want to remix for separated tracks on DAT or ADAT. If they feel you can produce something interesting, and that you're somewhat well known (they're not going to give these precious tracks to somebody if the remix is only going to be heard in the remixer's bedroom), then they will oblige your request.

The only alternative for "nobodies" is to cut up the original track (the full mixed version) and do your best to filter out different elements (i.e. pull down the bass and some of the highs to get the vocals). But this method leaves you with pretty lousy sounding samples to work with. Of course, this could prove to be an even more interesting effect than having the clean, separated tracks.