I want to produce but I don't feel like it.

funkypunkk

Hi,

Not sure if it's the right thread for this kind of question nor if it has been asked already before, but I'm curious what you guys think about motivation when it come to making music.

You see, my goal is to produce music for myself and others, and it's the only job I really have a strong desire to do. I hear patterns in a lot of things sound-wise, and always think about things I could produce.

The issue is that I kind of have to force myself to get off my ass and learn sound design/operating Ableton. Not force in the sense that I barely get myself to do it, but I don't exactly have that feeling where I just want to do it all day everday.

There are a few reasons I can think of. First of all, I've spent most of my "career" playing guitar in rock bands. After my last band fell apart and I started listening to loads of other genres such as hip hop, RN'B, electronic, experimental etc. I started learning in FL Studio and it was fun. However, it's all still new territory for me so I have a lot to learn. Now I'm using a free version of Ableton Live Lite 9 that I got with my MIDI keyboard and I love it so far.

When I actually do learn something new I get the thrill I used to get when practicing songs on guitar or writing songs. I also have Caustic 3 on my phone, and I can't describe the thrill I had when learning how to use the vocoder haha.

Maybe it is also the fact that making it in the music business is sorta difficult, and maybe I feel discouraged due to the fact that there's so much to learn and that I'm still not sure what my style of music is.

I want to know your opinions or experiences with this if you have any. :)

couldn't agree more.

I play the drums and it's very fun to practice or jam with friends. very spontaneous and stress reliving.