How are you orchestrating your beats?

StanleySteamer

Basically, I have a MAC and I go between Logic and FL Studio. I've been using FL Studio more lately because I can't afford plugins on Logic. I have been making hip hop beats for about 5 years now and I am looking to get more professional in terms of producing my beats. I would like to know how you guys as other producers are orchestrating your beats. For example, what octaves are you normally playing basses in(i.e. Sub Bass, Bass Guitar, all types of basses)? What octaves do you like your chords to be in? When you make patterns with different instruments, can you put more than one sound on the same octave while they play together? If one of your keys with one instruments hits on a certain key, does that mean when adding another instrument to a different octave do those keys have to match if they hit at the same time? Do you guys try to fill up the beat with as many instruments on different octaves as possible?

Theses are just a few of my many questions about this. I've been learning about music theory and scales and all that good stuff and I think I am getting it down pretty good. I am just finding a hard time figuring out how I want to orchestrate my beats. Any feedback would be much appreciated!

---------- Post added at 01:47 PM ---------- Previous post was at 01:45 PM ----------

I am also looking to learn to understand the keys a little bit better. I would like to know how some people can play one key with there left hand but then there right hand doesn't exactly match the keys. If that makes sense. Thanks again!

Last edited: