How To Make Soft, Smooth Sounds Like Owl City?

ericblobb

Hi there I am very new to sound design and music production and I have one very big question. How do I make very smooth sounding, um, sounds? If you've ever listened to Owl City you can hear that in one of his songs Fireflies, there is a very nice lead that sounds punchy, and soft and really nice. I've looked on YouTube for tutorials on synthesizing, I have Sylenth1 by the way, and all they ever show you is how to make very metallic sounding sounds like groans or dance leads. And while those are still good and all, how the heck do I get a more smooth sound like Owl City? Is there a special effect or like a filter I have to use? And would it be possible in Sylenth1? If not, what other VST's and instruments would you recommend to a beginner? I use Ableton Live 9 by the way. Thanks.

Hiya there! By the looks of it I would say you're a beginner to making music. I'll just cut to the chase and tell you how to get soft, smooth, flowing, punchy but gentle sounding sounds, but be warned I have a problem with writing a lot so prepare to read.

Now this question in an abstract way of looking at it is like asking a painter how hard and lightly he presses on a paper with his paint brush, and the type of brush he's using. I know this might sound odd, but bare with me. Look at making sounds this way. You're sound is the paint, and the effects you apply to the sound is how you stroke and apply the paint to the paper (lightly or softly). So there you go, effects are really the core of creating soft sounds. I'll get into what type if effects you want in a little bit, but first Sylenth1.