How to get started

Mikael

Hi, i would like to compose my own trance, house and techno music, but i don't have a clue were to start and what to do since im a total beginner, anybody who could give me an idea where to start, or a clue or hint, please help!!
What do you do to get started with this?

How serious.

Depends how serious you are, and how much money you want to invest.

HOt TiPs

My oh my are you lucky you I read this post. I am also a beginner. Previous to about a year ago I played no musical instruments, 'cept for a little guitar. I bought my first keyboard, a Yamaha DJX, not a great axe, but good enough in January 2000. I still composing with it today. I suggest the first thing you do is get a midi keyboard, not a expensive one, and a some midi-sequencing software, and a midi cable. Hook it all up,Download standard midi files from the net, open them up, and analyze them in your sequencer. Pay special attention to the chord progressions, how the bass matches the chords, and how the drums are programmed. Try to rework songs you know how to play, and try to figure out songs you hear. Remember expensive equipment does not make good music(although it helps)! Good people make good music. Getting some really deluxe board or sampler will probably curb your musical development. Well, email me at cocoabravo@hotmail.com or IM me at goingtocali if you want any more info....Peace and love

well ,if you are going to use a computer for production then i recommend you get a Pentium III and lots of RAM .

Sequencer Software

hi everyone,

i also want to start composing songs. i have been playing bass for 7 years now, so i have some musical knowledge, yet i need good tips on software.

what is the sequencer you guys use? are there any simulated synths, besides propellerhead's rebirth, out there?

see ya,

andreas rauh

REASON all the way is my advice

It has everything you need inside it (from sequencer to synth and effects, sampler, mixer...).