How do you give your beats that little something?

Liontari

So I'm a musician for a quite a while now, the harmonies and melodies ist not troubling me. But what I do have a problem with is figuring out what elements are missing in my beats. Most of the times I feel like they miss that little cherry on top, to be real good. I do changes in the patterns (I use Fl Studio Producer) and rises and breaks. But I'm not too familiar with the characteristics of most of the genres. And because of that I sometimes get a beat, that is fully in a genre, with a sound that's completely out of place. But I don't notice that until other mention it. I try to listen to more hip hop, to get a feeling for the genres. But do you know a method to find out what's missing in your beat? Might it be an instrument? An effect? Some small little details, background noise or ambience? For example I have this West coast beat right now and I really feel stuck on it. I'm quite happy with the general idea, but it's still missing something to become a full track. Is it an instrument? Is it somebody mumbling in the background? Ambience? Dj scratch? I don't know.

I am open on any advice on how to find out in general what's missing on a beat, to become professional and alive. On how to arrange your beat in a way that makes it alive and exciting. Or on my beat directly. I will try to post a link to a small excerpt of my beat, not mixed and everything.

Last edited:
Thank you for your reply. It may sound fine, but it's not on a professional level I think. I made some improvements now and finished it. I feel like I found what was missing. I added some shouts in the background, more breaks and drum variation, a thicker layered bass and a hook in the middle.

soundcloud.
com/user-405796566/fresh-gangsta-west-coast-beat