Help with huge drums from scratch. (not 808)

CmRob

Hi guys I've been trying to create huge drums like in Owl City's Take It All Away and Back Home (ft. Jake Owen) from scratch.

I have basic to intermediate knowledge in sound synthesis (mainly subractive).
I've been trying for quite a bit now.
I tried compressing, gating and distoring the shit out of acoustic kicks and tried to make the clap sound from layered noise snares using synth1 and the like.

I've tried reverse reverbing kicks (reverse the kick, add reverb the reverse back again).

I've downloaded, and of course mangled with so many free single drum VSTis

I get close but there's always something off, like maybe an off putting resonating tone from the kick that I can't simply correct with EQ , or I can't get the slightly long tail of both the kick and the snare.

The farthest I've reached is about 60-70% there. I'm not trying to fully replicate it but at least something close enough and holds it's own against the real thing.

Any tips? Things that I haven't tried and obviously have overlooked?

BTW please don't just give a samples or links. I would be aweseome if someone has already done it and would show me how they got it.

The reason why I want to do it from scratch, like from a synth or acoustic samples is

1st: I want to be able to control on the keyboard the note of the kick. So it's easier to precisely tune the kick in the key of the song.

2nd: Artists pride? I just want to learn how to make it and I'm studying synthesis and sampling as well.

As much as possible with all FREE stuff because I have no money right now hahaha.

Thanks to those who will reply.