is "E phrygian" a key?

dastig

I'm a classically trained pianist just getting to learn to modes after 10 years (they only teach us major and minor scales!!) and I'm trying to figure this out:

If I use the phrygian scale in E and have the chord progression

F G Amin C

would the chord progression, in technical terms be

II III IV VI, E phrygian

or would it be

IV V VI I, C major?

roman numerals are often used for tonal regions more often than modal keys, so i would go for option no. 2

however you may see a lydian blues for example where the I the IV and the V chords are all maj7 #11...

II-V-I progressions are typically dorian sounding but to avoid confusion they are wriitten as II =D min7 V= G7 I=C maj7 in the key of C major

but you will also find minor II-V progressions...

hope this helped a bit

it would technically be c-major. e phrydian is not a key, it is actually not a scale. it´s a mode.
you can identify keys by the V-dom7 chord, wich will make the I chord sound like the tonic. this is also the case in minor keys. a II-V-I in minor would be IImin7b5-V7b13-Iminj7 (melodic minor).
in your progression the V chord is bmin7b5 wich is not dominant sounding at all therefor giving the e minor no "tonic" sound.

so what's the difference between a mode and a scale then? If I write a tune using E phrygian again, for example, how can someone tell that i'm using the phrygian mode and not just C major?
i guess i'm asking, how does one make a song "phrygian sounding"?

Last edited:
dastig said:
so what's the difference between a mode and a scale then? If I write a tune using E phrygian again, for example, how can someone tell that i'm using the phrygian mode and not just C major?
No difference. Major scales = Ionian Mode. It's just the first mode and is more commonly known as the major scale.