Downtempo, DNB Tips and Tricks

noble5ive

Hello everyone i'm new to the forum. I must say there's alot of good info flooting around here and everyone seems to be respectful and that's mad cool. I wanted to start a post for downtempo and drum n bass tips and tricks. Please post anything you have to contribute as possible. I'm currently producing hip hop but want to branch out to the downtempo and drum n bass genres too. So far I got the hang of timestreching a drum loop. Pitching samples and such but I know there's always another way to do things. The sound I currently like is Break Reform, Portishead, Bork, DJ Krush, etc....

I wish i could add to this post but im also lost when it comes to downtempo. Lets get this thread going.

I've been making electronic music for about six years now, and after experimenting with nearly every genre, I must say I like working with DNB and downtempo the best.

I find that I'm most creative after listening to an old jazz album, Mingus for example. It also helps to start with a basic beat of one bar and construct the bass around that, then everything else.

If you get stuck, render about 16 bars to an mp3 and put it on your iPod or whatever. Listen to it while you're out and about, and you'll often find yourself whistling or humming a harmonic track to it. Record that musical idea as soon as possible (I usually use my phone when I'm out) and then sequence it when you get home.

The best time (for me) to make DNB is when I'm having a great day, and the best time (for me) to make downtempo is when I'm having a really crappy day.

What exactly consitutes a song being downtempo? I've always wondered this. I know it can't be just the fact that the tempo is lower than usual. That would be too easy.

That's pretty much my understanding. I'm sure there are small arguable details, but it seems that anything ~90 to ~55 bpm can be downtempo.