Do you have to follow Chord Progression rules and stuff?

FroggyG

Ok I made a chord progression that doesn't really follow the 1.minor 2.diminshed 3.major 4. minor 5.minor 6. major 7.major Rule is saw in a book that I have. Also when i made I used a major pentatonic scale instead of a minor one. Idk if it musically incorrect but I kinda like it. it's C min D min E min G maj D Min E Min D#Min B Min.

Ok I actually made a chord progression like a normal person but I still like the one I made.

Last edited:
I'm still learning myself. I think the chord progression is just a guide for the ear. How the chords connect and etc. If the chord you did sounds cool, then keep it. If YOU have doubts about the chord and/or progression, then change it. It's up to you. Choose wisely. Lol.

The basic rules teach you how to make 'normal' sounding music. You can break the rules but it will sound slightly less 'normal'

As you get more and more advanced you learn what any combination of notes sounds like, so you can find less obvious/normal things that sound good in different ways.

For example one of my favorite pieces of music is Bill Evans/Miles Davis Blue in Green:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GnDwgRgpYcE
It doesn't sound 'normal' but I really like it. The theory is quite complicated though.

When you know a lot of theory you can almost predict what kind of mood/emotion notes will have without listening to them.

Even if a person writes a song using no theory whatsoever, someone else could come along and say what the theory is.

Last edited:
Aside from what is said above, rules are made to be broken is something that really applies to music making A LOT!