DnB Percussion

D

DJ Skill

I'm just getting into composing dnb and i can do basslines and simple percussion easily, but how do you make those really complex beats with snares? I cant even find any voices for it. I get the basic idea of things like:

BD: x---|----|--x-|----|
SD: ----|x---|----|x---|
HH: xxxx|xxxx|xxxx|xxxx|

But i just dont know where to start with those complex beats! Anywhere i can see drum machine patterns?

I think that complex stuff is created very spontaneuslly, because I can't imagine anyone fool around with those complex beats and do exactly what they want. I think it is done with a sampler. Chopping the loops and stuff. Or by "random patch generators". I know Aphex Twin does his crazy stuff with those. How does random patch generator work? I don't know, because I never used one, but I think you can find lots of info on the web.
I might be wrong, but that's the way I would do it. SPONTANEUSLY! Just putting the notes in, remove some, add some, close my eyes and play the notes with arpeggio and record it that way, .....kind of...

Well, it's good to have some basic of the beat down, and that you know how it has to sound, but then the improvisation and experimentation comes in.

I don't know how the pros do it, but I would do it that way.

It all depends on your way of making music, and your view of making music.

peace.
FISHI:)

HERE'S A FEW TIPS

A good tip is to continue the way you are doing creating simple patterns. The next thing to do is to add delay to your hats, this will create more of a rolling effect. Mess about with the positioning of notes and the variations are endless.

Another tip is to create your basic pattern as above, sample the whole thing, chop it up again and re-sequence it and your loop will gradually start to change into something totally different.

Add compression to your break as it's chopped up to highligh each hit and mess around with the EQ to give more punch to the overall loop.