Confused - would very much appreciate any help given.

ashinblu

Hi, I'm an amateur producer (very amateur) and I've been using FP for a long time, but haven't posted. It's been an invaluable resource to me, and I was just wondering if I could get that help. I been doin' beats for roughly 2 years, on and off, but I am dedicated. (only reason I went off is due to personal reasons)

I wanna produce trap beats, or hip hop sampled beats, in the style of Kanye and Blaze, but not exactly like it, cuz i know each producer need their own style. But I also wanna produce in the style of Young Chop. I know very basic music theory, like what a scale is, what a chord is, and I've figured out some stuff on my own. The equipment is as follows:

Tascam US 144 MK II
Akai MPK 49

And Dell Inspiron 1545

So basic setup, I just started out. Though I did use a studio around the block, I knew the guy who owned it, but I moved house, so I can't use that anymore. Anyway, I'm confused about chord progressions, and melodies. Particularly, how do I know how to match up a chord progression to melody, and how to make a melody in the first place. Then how to make the chord progression. I know the roman numerals part, and going from the home chord and back, and some of that stuff, but when I make my progressions, I never know which chords to choose, when starting from the home chord. Moreover, I do not know how to make a melody. I spend hours attempting to do it by ear, but it never sounds good. Then I hear Young Chop made "3hunna" in 15-20 minutes, and I'm in awe.

I'm not looking to be spoonfed, so please do not take this the wrong way, however merely some guidance in the right direction would be greatly appreciated. I have googled, searched, bought books, read books, but nothing quite seems to answer my question. I have read Bandcoach's posts, upteen times, yet putting them into my own original ideas I fall short. I have made good beats, yet they are merely luck rather than deliberate action.