Chord Progressions Within Scale?

InKredibleTracks

Hip-Hop Baby
What's up everybody?

To start with, I'm a novice at music theory. I've played by ear for the longest but find myself playing the same notes / scales over and over again and it's killing my creativity.

I understand how to construct a chord from the root note of a scale, (C Major Scale, I Major chord would be C-E-G) but where do you go from there in building a progression? If you're in a major scale, do all your chords have to be major? I'm super lost. Lol.

Thanks guys!

- J

Hello, Theory can be really tricky. lol!! Theres literally hundreds of progressions. And no they don't have to be all major. Seems like you have an understanding of the numbers system. 1-4-5 is a pretty popular one. they are all major. 2-5-1 is pretty popular. Its minor major major. But in every scale 1 is major the 2 is minor 3 is minor 4 i major 5 i major 6 is minor and 7 is dimininshed. I would sugest lookin on Youtube for some progressions. iI also plan on doing som videos on my channel soon. DPHLAT GETEM - YouTube

1-4-5 is a pretty popular one. they are all major. 2-5-1 is pretty popular.

Well, If were talking progressions then they need to be labeled as such, with roman numerals. In your example, the correct way to write it would be ii-V-i (2,5,1) With lower case being minor and upper case being major. Also I-IV-V is the most common progression, (often used in conjunction with other "blues" prog's) used throughout blues, jazz and rock. You could go as far as calling it the foundation.

But in every scale 1 is major the 2 is minor 3 is minor 4 i major 5 i major 6 is minor and 7 is dimininshed.

Actually, thats incorrect. the III chord of A minor is C Major. Also the iv (4) and v (5) chords are minor.
You may wanna go back and brush up on that aspect.

OP, if you google something like "roman numeral chord progressions" google will spit out some stuff for you to chew on.