Chord Progressions (7ths & Inversions)

typhy

I'm fairly new to producing and was wanting to get into R&B type beats.
My favorite producer of this genre would have to be Ryan Leslie.
I have a question about chord progressions.
I know R&B uses a lot of 7th and 9th chords usually in minor scales.
Say I have a chord (triads) progression of: i-III-iv-v

Maybe I wanna throw in some 7ths into that mix.. would all 4 chords have to turn into 7ths? Or do I just pick random ones to throw the 7th note into? How about inversions? When is the appropriate time to use an inversion? I'm a noobie so everything I've ever made was always basic major/minor triad chord progressions.

I want to add some flavor and originality into my chords.. any help?

---------- Post added at 02:35 AM ---------- Previous post was at 02:29 AM ----------

Also, I'm having a difficult time coming up with melodies. I watch all of Ryan Leslie studio sessions where he's making these amazing beats and can't help but wonder how he comes up with all those beautiful melodic leads. I watch them over and over but can't seem to create my own without subconsciously copying his, lol!

So the question is... what are some good techniques for coming up with a melody? How many notes should a melody consist of? Most of my melodies have a "ballad" type rhythm to them which I don't want. I want the catchy, poppish, funky type melodies that Ryan Leslie and Johnny Juliano usually compose. Are there any secrets for melodies you guys might share with me?

I'm fairly new to producing and was wanting to get into R&B type beats.
My favorite producer of this genre would have to be Ryan Leslie.
I have a question about chord progressions.
I know R&B uses a lot of 7th and 9th chords usually in minor scales.
Say I have a chord (triads) progression of: i-III-iv-v