chord progression for fun ....

C

cowby

Hi,

I would like to play chord progression. My left hand always press C -> A -> G -> F and the right hand play diff. keys. The chord progression that I played was good and easily found in those POP songs. But I started getting boring.

Any easy Chord progression pattern that you guys can post here like those pop song (intro) ? BTW, I am a newbie ...

Cowby

well, if you want to make up chord progressions. You'll have to know a little theory.

When playing progressions, the most important thing to know is that you have to stay in the key. That is... if you're in the key of C major (all white keys) you won't play any sharps or flats (black keys). This will dictate what type of chord you play. The chords built off the 1st 4th and 5th notes of a major scale will be Major chords. and the chords built off the 2nd, 3rd, and 6th will be minor chords. The 7th is a diminished chord... but you can play a minor instead.

anyway. A classical chord progression is made of 4 parts.
Tonic - Predominant - Dominant - Tonic

the tonic is the chord built off the root note
the predominant is the chord built off either the 2nd or 4th note of the scale
the dominant is the chord built off the 5th note in the scale
and then back to the tonic

that is the most basic progression ever.
examples are:
CMaj - dmin - GMaj - CMaj
AMaj - DMaj - EMaj - AMaj
etc...
anyway...
that's just the simplest progression. But, as long as you keep the chords in the key... you can pretty much jump around from chord to chord however you like-if it sounds good to you then it's good :)

I hope this isn't too confusion... I'm not too good at explaining these things. If it is or you have other questions, write back.
:) :) :) :)
-Mike

Guys,

Thanks for your reply/input.

How about the right hand. Any suggestion to work with the chord you guys provided ?

Cowby

one thing also, inversions are very handy, at least on the piano (don't have the nack for them on the guitar yet)...