Can someone give me some examples of Hip hop songs that are in a Major key???

World Wide

I can't seem to ever compose any beats in anything other than minor. Every time I try to do something in a major key I always end up with something that is actually in the relative minor of that key instead.

I can only think of a few beats myself that I at least think are in a major key (I am by no means an expert so I could be wrong) and I hate those tracks mostly hahaha (IE Kanye West - Good Life. This song is way too bubbly and happy I could really picture a bunch of children singing the hook on Sesame Street).

So does anyone have any examples of major key rap songs???

Last edited:
h to the izzo, I believe is in a major key
I'm not sure, but it seems like a good amount of the songs on DJ Khaled's new album have those 80's synths in major keys.

Danon BREZ said:
h to the izzo, I believe is in a major key

funny, that's the only one i could think of right off the bat.

nicholasgomez69 said:
Still Dre by Dr.dre i think is in a major key. I remember seeing a video of Scott Storch playing it.

no way. It's minor. THat's why it sounds dark. Probly that whole album is. I think minor key is part of the dre sound.

Maybe it's part of the hip hop sound. Everything I make comes out minor.
Yeah worldwide i'm thinkin the same as you.

edit-
goldigger by kanye is major
i think through the wire is too

"oh yeah" by the big tymers is major key keyboard beat. I bet they're probly not as common as major key sampled beats

here's a major one by a former fp member

Last edited:
lo tech said:

no way. It's minor. THat's why it sounds dark. Probly that whole album is. I think minor key is part of the dre sound.

edit-

"oh yeah" by the big tymers is major key keyboard beat. I bet they're probly not as common as major key sampled beats

Are you sure??? That one you linked to doesn't sound major to me.

I haven't had a chance to check the others yet

G.R. said: