Beating "Producers Block"

OfficialLilNik

IF YOU WANT THE UNFINISHED BEAT LET ME KNOW. I couldn't attach it:/

Hey, I'm a 16 year old producer and have been producing for around 6 years now so I'm a little experienced in things that producers encounter (Obviously I am still young so have not experienced everything). I just wanted to talk about a few things to do when a producer hits a block and can't produce anything. I've had this a few times and its been really annoying and recently I had a block, the worst I've ever had! I was unable to produce any sort of music for around 2 months and I felt my time was over and almost shut down my YouTube channel and all sites I have too. Every time I would go to my DAW to try and produce something my mind would freeze up and any sort of melody that came out was utterly simple and was not to the standard that I worked at previously.

I'm just going to tell you a few things to do and also what NOT to do while in this situation and hopefully you can get back on track in no time!:
I'M ALSO GOING TO ATTACH A ZIP WITH AN FLP FILE AND STEMS OF AN UNFINISHED SONG IF YOU WANT TO USE IT.
THINGS TO DO:

• Try to search for music which is inspiring. This does not include lyrical content. Only beats which make you think "Damn that is good". Unique Beats. There are plenty of them on YouTube. Search your favourite producer or artist on youtube followed by "Type Beat" or "Type Instrumental" eg. "Timbaland Type Beat" or "Drake Type Instrumental".
  • When producing always start with the thing you are strongest at. For me this is the beat. Usually when I dont have a block, I go for making the melody first to get it out the way with so i can escalate the song with the drums, but when you have a block always start with the thing you are best at, then build around that.