about my tracks

gareth

I have this problem for all the tracks i produce..
ive been using fruityloops but now changed to Reason and i still have this problem.. after i make the song and export it as audio file.. when i listen to it.. it seems its missing somethin which makes it sound like a real song... coz the sound seems to be so computerized or once ppl listen they will know its a home production..
doesnt sound like a real song

is there a cause to this? anything to fix this problem?
or is it coz i dont have a real synth?

how about an example of your music...maybe we'd be better able to guage your music and critique if you had an mp3 posted online.

~Lodger~

:victory:

Sounds like your skipping the mastering step. I'm not a huge expert on mastering myself, cause since I mostly release MP3s the quality is gonna take a hit anyhow, and my real love is doing live PAs. But anyhow, I have learned a few things about mastering, mostly through my experiences playing out and needing to improve sound quality so that I don't sound all muddy and/or tinny compared to DJs spinning professionally mastered, rich, warm vinyl.

A couple things would help you go the distance: a nice multi-band eq, and a compressor. Now since your in software, you can just go searching for plugins. EQing should be easy to get your hands on, in fact it comes built into most wav editors. The thing to keep in mind with EQ is that you don't want to use too much of it. In fact, you're generally better off turning down multiple bands rather than boosting others. Also remember that unless you have good studio monitors, you're not getting a very clear impression of what your tune sounds like. If you put it on a tape or cd, and play it in car stereos, home stereos, whatever, you'll find that the extra bass you cranked up so it sounded good on your computer speakers turns the song into mush on your car subs.