your favorate gear suggestions

R

Rayne

I'm a sound designer and engineer. The kind of work I do out of my home studio isn't giant multi-track recording projects. I create the effects for theatre productions, do converting work, editing, a bit of production, etc.. I do a tiny bit of recording, but usually it's a remote recording session: I like to make my gear portable for that reason. but I'm getting a paycheck from some work I did.. and I'm looking for suggestions on gear that you feel is invaulable.
---------------------
-I've got a nice set of Event 20/20bas monitors
- Roland VM-3100 digital mixer/ control surface
-ADJ dcd-pro400 dual CD decks + mixer
- Numark pro TT1 + pioneer mixer
- MIdi keyboard
_2x AKG D8000s mic
I' was thinking possibly some mic pre-s or a hardware compressor.. I could see those being very useful in the future. I think i'm goig to spend the $80 for 2x D9000 AKG mics. I've had good luck with the 8000, and the 9000 is a bit better.

I saw an advertisment for the Nady PRA-8 for $100. but 8 mic pre's for $100 MUST sound like ass! My mixer only has 2 XLR inputs, and the phantom power is broken on it. SO I could fix the phantom power and spend liek $70, or buy 8 XLR inputs w/ phantom powe.r.. but if it sounds like ****, i don't benefit.

Please let me know what gear you found invaulable when you where starting out getting your own work. Or what piece of ger would you never trade and find yourself using daily. :) Thanks alot for your recomendations guys! (and girls) ;)

you really didn't say what you are recording on. are you looking for software? hardware? if you are looking for a good pre that is small enough to take on the road the Presonus Blue Tube is a nice small pre that sounds good.

software wise Drumagog is KING for drum replacement on PC. MDA makes a ton of cool free plug ins.

I have every free vst from KVR. Spent a week downloading every one of them. :P took awhie to sift through the good ones.. MDA makes some quality releases.