Where do I start!?

C

CCA

I am an absolute beginner, (if that) at music production. I have been djing for over 5 years now but wanna start producing (electronic music) I honestly know nothing about it, I have reason and cubase but nothing else, no system (PC) or midi controller etc. Does anyone have any suggestion for midi controllers, computers for production, or even non computer instruments, (Synth, Drum machine etc.) Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated, i am very interested but also very lost, if anyone has the time id trully appreciate it!
+/- Chris

Go to your local Guitar center and buy a EMU MP-7 or a XP-7 dance,Rap, Techno box, for about 6 to 7 hundred bucks, READ the manual over and over and over and I guarantee youll be making music that sounds just as good as anything you hear nowadays, How you ask? because most of the music you hear, most of the musicians own a lot of EMU gear.

well, you already have 2 very good programs. With Reason you can learn just about all of the tricks of the trade as far as electronic music making.

Subtractor is capable of making some pretty sick basslines. Don't be afraid to play with matrix and subtractor, export a bassline and load it into cubase and tweak the bejesus out of it.

For a midi controller that is smaller and just so cool, get the 2 octave oxygen 8. (cheap) It's small enough to fit in your backpack, and you will learn to love it. Although sometimes you'll run out of keys. That's what they make the Octave button for. hehe I have two real studio setups.

1. Laptop, USB Hub (for usb dongles), Cubase , Reaktor Battery, Oxygen8. I carry laptop in one case on one shoulder and the oxygen8 in another laptop case on another shoulder. It's great for when I have to stay at a hotel go to airport etc.. Unzip and portable studio, enough to wake up your next door neighbors.

2. Home studio with outboard FX - K2000, and my favorite keyboard the monphonic Korg Prophecy.