Where to Begin? Help with my setup...

docmal

Im a guitar player, and song writer. Right Now I have some good guitar equipment, I have a Boss GT6, A Taylor 815ce guitar, a fender US strat and a Fender Twin Reverb reissue amp. Recently I bought a RC-20 loopstation to practice my lead and to lay down song ideas. It got me real interested in recording.

Ok, now dont judge me, my day job is a programmer so I have some real nice computer equipment, including a very nice desktop PC. p4 3.2ghz 1gig ram, 10k raid drives and 200gig backup drive, audigy 2zs gamer sound card, and some nice Logitech 5.1 thx speakers.

I want to merge my stuff. Basically I want to record tracks onto my pc, but thats just the begining.

My current plan is to get the following items this holiday season:

DigiDesign MBox interface (pro tools)
Boss Dr-880 Drum machine

I also need:
A nice mic for vocals and to record from my twin reverb amp if I want to.
Some sort of monitor to playback or play live through -- Is a PA system good for this or am I looking for something else?

and maybe some sort of sampling machine (though I dont know much about it)

My style is mostly indie rock ala EELS, pavement, early Beck and the likes. If you don't know these bands they are sort of experimental rock artists who not only use guitars but some samples and things, however the backbone of the music is usually guitars and drums.

Basically ANY advice on where to go from here would be great. I would love to get a fully functional beginner studio with room for upgrades and such as I gain more experience. However, im slightly lost with all this equipment being tossed around. I really just want to write music loops and such and then sequence and compose it on my comp.

Sorry this is so long, I REALLY appreciate the help.