what computer should i buy?

T

theblackstar01

hi im pretty new to this,ive been making beats for fun on my computer and stuff
but ive come to make some pretty good sounds,my problem is my computer cant handle the sound,its old,but im conflicted and plz i need help with this some ppl tell me to get a g4 mac
and some say get the imac, and i was told to get a pc,but i want to know what you guys thank is a great computer for me to start of with,b4 i buy my motif rack and mpc.....

cheers

For the most power for the best value, you are going to want to build your own. Something with at least 1 gb ram, 2.8 ghz p4 or similar brand, two hard drives (one for programs and one for audio) and a nice interface/soundcard. I get alot of my computer parts from ebay, just because they are cheaper and im broke. Buying an allready made computer from Compusa or other retailer is going to come with cheaper parts to keep the prices down, so you arent going to get the best computer for your money, and you dont get exactly what you want.

it depends on what software you wanna run. if you are wanting to run sonar, acid or FL then you NEED a pc as they are PC only. if you want Logic, or Digital Performer then you are in Mac land. Some products are cross platform and work on both. i use work loosly. Nuendo and Cubase are cross platform but perform better on a PC. Pro Tools runs on both, but Mac users get better treatment from digidesign.

as for power either will give it to you. for PCs the best way to go, if you don't have the patience or skills to build one yourself is to get a pre configured computer for music. http://www.adkproaudio.com builds excellent quality DAWs and also have budget solutions. if you want an off the shelf solutions the Dell Optiplex line is good. Myself and about 6 other producers and engineers I know are running Optiplex's for our Nuendo rigs.