Synthesizers w/ a mixing console???

D

DjPlasTech

i am a electronic music producer who is currently building up his home studio and going to school for recording arts, learning to become an audio engineer. i am going into in depth signal flow with the consoles and since i love to mix with actual hardware and not software faders, i'm at a crossroads. almost all hardware synths now adays come with stereo outputs. of course they do, the patches you create sound terrfic in stereo. but the problem is consoles are desgined for mono inputs. yes most consoles do have stereo in's, but even the high end boards only have a few of them. Now if i am running 5 outboard synths and 3 or 4 software synths and i want to do a mixdown, that's going to be a pain if i have to mix every channel for every synth. know what i'm saying? what i'm asking is... in what way can i set my console up for synthesizer tracking and mixing sessions making it practical and easy, like doing a mixdown for a band or something of the sort. do you get what i'm asking??? if not just let me know and i'll reword my problem as best i can. thanks

There are several options.

A lot of gear that have stereo outs also offer mono only on the left channel if you so desire.

If you have 5 synths you can also run them into the mixer as stereo pairs, i.e. Synth 1 to channel 1 and 2, channels panned hard left and right. Synth 2, channel 3 and 4, panned hard left and right.

The hard panning gives you the true stereo output, then you can move that image by changing the pan of the groups accordingly. Then again you can just use the left channel of each pair if you want mono, while still having the stereo option at your fingertips.

And digital desks let you strap the channels into pairs for this purpose.