Studio monitors, but why do people always say this…

litteleskimo

I have been reading reviews about monitors and dont understand why people keep saying (about certain monitors, HR824 one in particular) they find it really difficult to translate their mixes onto other systems, mainly normal hi-fi players, car stereos etc. I don’t understand the purpose of this or see how it could be of any benefit?
The reason people buy studio monitors is so they can get an accurate representation of the real sound they are mixing, so what would be the purpose of playing that mix back on regualr cd player speakers, when they are obviously not going to give you an accurate mix like proper studio monitors will. Im new to monitors and just trying to learn, am I on the right track or am I missing something here?
Thanks for any help with this question.

Tane

The answer is actually pretty obvious - your average listener doesn't have studio monitors. Instead, they have the crappy stereo system. Get my drift? :cheers:

yup you are gonna want to check the mix in the car or wherever because thats where the listener will listen to it

If "we need to know what our mixes sound like on coloured speakers" then we would need to install every single speaker on the market in our studio to 'hear' that vast range of 'colours'. Clearly not very practical! Far better to install one neutral pair that will enable us to create a single, balanced mix that will hopefully translate reasonably well to all the 'coloured' pairs out there.

That, in a nutshell, is the logic of buying a decent set of neutral monitors and generally speaking that is the Holy Grail of what designers of such monitor speakers are aiming for too.

You will find most pro studio's will have 2 pairs of monitors.

Translation Monitors- ie NS10's or similar that "translate" well into the "real" world.