reason or project 5

contact

Hey, I'm new at this studio scheme
But i was willing to invest in some software synths. I know reasons great, but I'm looking for more of a hip hop vibe. Shall I go with project 5. Or should I save some more, buy a synth rack, and use cubase sl?
thanks

Project five is a little more flexible than reason and gives you more room in terms of being able to create your own sounds and stuff but It has a steeper learning curve. Reason is a good all in one program that gets you used to hardware and stuff and is a little easier to use and is probably a better choice if you plan on getting into hip-hop

project 5- the extra time learning it would be worth it. Maybe get reason later on. I put reason on the back burner a bit ago.

contact, grab the demos for both and give them a whirl. They have very different approaches; I find the Reason interface inspiring while P5 never really grabbed me...but as you can see, there are people for whom the opposite is true. P5 also lets you use VSTs, whereas Reason doesn't, so that's something to keep in mind if there are VSTis you're planning on checking out.

The only real advantage Reason holds right now is its seniority; having been around for longer, there are far more tutorials and resources available. You don't mention FLStudio...it's very popular (and unpopular :)) in the hiphop forums here, so you'll find that there's a lot of people here with experience in using it for just the vibe you're looking for.

FLStudio also has a demo. I really can't stress how important it is to check these things out; other people's opinions reflect their experience with the package...it's a good starting point, but you won't know for sure until you go hands on.

Sonar 3 Producers Edition is your answer. Good recording, good synths and samplers, good effects. Enough to start with anyway. Get a controller and be done with it. Plus you can rewire Reason with it later.