mixing with motu 896

J

jaredoco

Hi, i'm kind of new at this, so don't yell at me. I'm kind of confused is to how you mix the tracks after recording with a MOTU 896, into cubase. Right now, I have a Tascam US-428, which has a built in mixer that works on the computer. However, with the MOTU, do you need to use one of those really really expensive controllers (like the one from Radikal technologies)? Can you use a digital mixer? Or do i just have to use my mouse?

then, my second question is, if i am using the MOTU 896, would you suggest powermac G4 or a pentium 4 PC...i've been doing a lot of research, and it seems the high-end macs are better. What about those new iMacs (the one's that look like a desk lamp), are those any good for digital recording?

i would personally recommend skipping the iDesklamp and go for a tower....now, don't just look at the apple store for new macs, because powermax has some smoking deals on used, refurbished, and new g4s....right now the've got g4/733s for $1349 brand new.....personally i'd rather loose a few MHz for the break in the pocketbook and invest in a few other things...additionally with the announcement today of cubase sx, you'll be able to put multiple g4's and/or pentiums together with the vst system link and have a really smoking set up...(and you'll want a g4 to run os x on...the g3s just can't do it nicely on the display end)

as for the motu 896 and the tascan us-428, you should have no problems using them both.....make sure you have everything set up correctly so that the tascam is handling controlling your faders etc and that all sound i/o is set to go through the motu....

but that's just my opinion...take it or leave it.... :)

thanks

thanks a lot. that was very helpful. i have two more questions: