I need help with a home studio for Rap

Ronahan

Hey, I'm trying to build up a home studio for recording and producing rap music...thing is i don't know where to start.

I dont know which keyboard i should use (korg, yamaha motif, etc.) ?

What mixers? What equipment do i need to make good quality sounding tracks?

Thanks to anyone that can help me..

pretty broad question there.. seems like you're a total newbie.

you know what, i spent almost a year trying to build my studio to where it's at, and it's not even finished yet. takes more time than just a sudden urge to get it up and running.

so you want to make rap music. this is what FP veterans answer to questions like that: You have know what you want from your studio.

so, you should ask yourself these questions:

1) What kind of music do you want from it? your answer: rap
2) How much are you willing to invest? (you do know that you can spend close to $3000 for a PC recording studio right?)
3) What instruments do you play? or what instruments are you willing to learn?
4) do you have any experience at all in recording and music?
5) do you already have equipment? if so, what are the requirements?
6) would you rather have a computer based setup or do you want to use outboard equipment?

so many questions you can ask. bottom line is, you have to know what you want before you get it. every little detail.

for #2, those keyboards you mentioned cost at least $2000. would you rather get that instead of a good computer with music software? but a bit of advice: don't go overboard on spending.

for #3 nd #5, if you know how to use a particular instrument, i guess you should have an idea of what equipment you're supposed to get, right? i mean, if you know how to play piano, you know what a good piano sounds like. same with other instruments.