Gettin Started! Big Step!

H

housefreak

Hey guys i am a first time poster long time reader and just wanted to say hello everyone on the forums. Yes im a newb! lol

I've come here for help.

Basicly im taking my first big step in terms of recording/ producing.

Rather then Opinions witch often in the long run confuse me lol im seeking kind of stricked guidance yes or no sort anwers.

so my first questions is... what do you think of this setup

apple macbook pro
m audio fire wire solo
logic
?

The next question i have is i need somehat of the most basic asnwer possible i've done enough reseach but still can't understand. What soundcard do i put on macbook? what i need to understand is the m audio solo will make the sound coming in and out of the computer better, but does it act as a soundcard for lets say burning a song or mix i recorded on to the computer will i hear that same quality on the cd? if so do i just get a basic sound that comes with the laptop and the m audio will "overwrite" somewhat and act as the soundcard.

that's pretty much it for now. Thank you so much for reading and trying to understand my troubles.

Last edited by a moderator:
First, yes, the M-Audio acts something like an additional soundcard (in addition to your internal card). The proper term is an interface.

Once you've recorded your audio, the interface plays no role in processing. It handles only the preamplification and A/D conversion for recording, and D/A for playback. Anything you do to mix or what-have-you is all handled digitally between the processors, RAM, and HDD. Mixdown/bounce included.

I think this setup could work quite well. Certainly in terms of raw power. But be sure that whatever software and hardware drivers you buy are *natively* compatible with the new Intel-based Macbook. Do your homework on this. If the software uses Rosetta (their PowerPC emulation tool for not-yet-Intel-compatible software), it's not going to be using the full potential of the machine.