Detroit techno studio

A

arg0n

Well, this is my first post, so before I start let me say that this is a great site! Now let's go to the point...
Ok, I'm a techno producer (Not trance alike, I'm talking about real techno Hard & Fast (Detroit I must say). 'till today, I've only used soft (pc)to create my songs, currently using reason, but I would like to set up a hardware studio, but I don't really know where to start, so I'm asking for your help. Which material should I buy... keybords synths, drum boxes, fxxxx, what? Anyone who could give me a hint?
(If you could give the complete setup of the studio that would be just wonderfull, I mean tell me all the things I should buy to get a nice studio going, not a millionare studio, just a studio! (Influences: Jeff Mills, Dave Clarke, Chris Liebing, Ben Sims, Umek, Carl Cox...)

Hi,

Obvious answer, but ... it depends which parts of your software setup you are dissatisfied with.

I have a mostly-software setup, but the best item of hardware I have invested in is a synth (although decent ones don't come cheap). This has definitely improved the production standards of my tracks.

I have a fairly cheap Yamaha keyboard (it has some reasonable piano sounds, and it functions as a MIDI controller too). I also have a reasonable vocal mic, which I use to record all manner of sounds (mainly percussion).

I use a mixer to mix all the different inputs into my PC (synth/keyboard/mic/Minidisc). Other than that, my only hardware is my turntables, my amp and my speakers!

If I were to spend any more money, I would get a better mixer (with less hiss) and a better soundcard (maybe a digital job with a higher sample rate / bit depth). But I do all of my sample-editing and sequencing, and even some synthesizing, in software.

Why do you want to get some hardware?