Ayo im a newbie yo whats the deal about cubase

Steinbergs Cubase is an audio/midi sequencing software with many powerful features like FX-PlugIns, Rewire or VST Instruments etc. Try the Steinberg Homepage, Google and the great Search function on this site for more info.

Shad

If you have no midi controller and no outtboard midi gear of nice VST instruments, it won't serve you too well for making beats but it will for multi-tracking.

If you're still new to production, I highly recommend checking out the demo of Tracktion before making your sequencer decision.

Tracktion works, for me, exactly how I want a sequencer to work. If I want a loop to play, I drag the audio onto a track and then specify how often I want it to repeat. If I want to effect it, drag a plug-in down and drop it on to the end of the track. Everything is visible on the main screen, one of the design decisions is to do away with having to track information across multiple displays. I find the interface clean and easy to follow...in fact, I find that I barely notice the interface, which is the biggest compliment I can pay it.

Don't be put off by its relative newness either...it offers plug-in delay compensation, track freezing, ReWire... The author hangs out on the forum at K-v-R and has been known to make bug fixes available within hours of their being reported. And it's only US$80, which is just amazing.

Highly recommended!

Sleepy, you can easily create beats on the fly using the piano roll edit page and pencilling in the notes, but I agree a decent midi controller keyboards or drum pads would be far more expressive. The trance heads actually program their beats using the piano roll edit and grid edit pages as they cant begin to play keys or pads at 180bpm.

Sorry Sleepy, but Cubase has extensive beat making capabilities. It has functionality akin to apps like Recycle and the sequencer is as versatile, if not better, than most dedicated sequencing software apps.