The Akai MPC2000XL and......

H

huey

hey guys

i'm starting up a home setup. i have a good computer and moniters and chunk of hard earned cash. i'm a house music fanatic. from disco uplifting vocals to dark a deep rythem. i've been researching for about 2 months , i was close to buying the rm1x but i just don't think its all that. pattern based and seems a little weak. so i'm looking at the akai mpc2000xl, i can get it for $2500 (australia dollars) with the 32mem upgrade and the extra 8 outputs. then say i buy a pair of funky technic 1200 headphones and an average microphone.

what else should i acommpany the mpc with? as its so solid as a sequencer i will use it as my main device. but what about adding my own sounds and beats? yeah i use its sampler but sample what from. i'm not really into sampling records and stuff off the internet cos its not my stuff. is there a good drum machine i could use together with the mpc??

and what about effects, if i don't get the upgrade on the mpc it has none. should i just get that or is there something better??

then what about hard disk recording? cd burner mixers and records seem to be the hot talk at the moment is there one good for a home budget studio or should i just get a midi setup with say logic or cubase on my puter and hard disk record on that and then burn my chunes? and if i'm using my computer which is the best software to run as a slave to my mpc?? could then i do with out the effects board on my mpc??

but then again i kind of prefer to use hardware entirely. other options then??

or is there something better than the mpc, i'm not really into the grooveboxes cos they kind of just rely on patterns and internal sounds. not really my cup of coffee, cos i want to make my stuff as original as i can.

help??????

:confused:

so many questions,,,, sorry:p

i would really appreciate your advice :D

huey