Absolute beginner…

P

Pride

Hi, I'm currentley looking to purchase software/hardware for the mac to turn my bedroom into a home studio.

I've looked around and I've been told that basically what i need is:

cubase
halion
controller keyboard
monitors etc

is this a good choice?

now i roughly know what these are and what they do but please slate me if this is a stupid question but if your sampling a sound then how do you sync it to whatever you already have?

cheers.

very good choice yes

add to that a good synthesizer. Native Instrument's PRO-52 is excellent, and if you prefer FM synthesis, the FM-7 s nice

Halion is great, but Native Instrument's new KONTAKT is amazing too.. it has all the latest high-end features you want in a sampler.

gosh i sound like a NI ad today :) no i dont work for them. Their programs are just great.

good luck!

Before splashing out on a load of (admittedly very nice) NI soft-synths, be aware that Cubase comes with some already and there are some freebies out on the net as well. You may well (almost certainly will) want to get something a bit better later on, but give yourself a chance to find out what suits you.

KasioRoks

nice one,

I've already downloaded the demo version of pro-52 and it seems pretty cool and i've messed around abit with cubase, but still haven't made any definate decisions, although cubase at the moment is first choice.

Q if creating a sound using a synth then obviously playing it on the controller keyboard, how do you then record and sync it into cubase?

cheers.

Originally posted by Pride
Q if creating a sound using a synth then obviously playing it on the controller keyboard, how do you then record and sync it into cubase?