4,000 to spend on project studio setup

L

LT17

i am an aspiring producer and i produce hip-hop beats but i'm also looking into other styles but anyway. I have about $4,000 to spend on a home setup and I would like the expert opinions of those on this site. I currently use Reason 3, a busted up keyboard, and my dad's PC with desktop speakers...and that's just not gonna work, if you would like to check out my work let me know, you will be surprised. Well, i'm thinking of purchasing the following things.

Studio RTA Creation Studio Desk

Yamaha Motif6 61-Key Workstation

Sennheiser HD-280 Closed Back Headphones

M-Audio BX8 Studiophile Powered Monitors

Digidesign MBox

Compaq Presario v2335us Notebook 1.86GHz 100GB Hard Drive, and 1GB of RAM

I have a question also. Can I import sounds from the Motif into Reason? or a program like Adobe Audition or Cubase??

I'll greatly appreciate any help.

i dont know at the moment, i havent really thought of getting one, i program my drums on reason 3. if u wanna check my work send your e-mail adress and i'll get with u.

i think it'd be better to get a midi keyboard and a motif es rack instead of the whole thing and just use cubase, logic, protools or any other computer sequencer to do the rest because u can get like a triton rack and a motif rack witha midi keyboard for about the price of one full workstation

I agree with loh90, it is better to go with the rack version of a keyboard and use a midi controller..You can blow so much cash on buying equipment b/c it looks cool when in reality you just need to buy whats gonna get the job done. The more experience you get the more you add on......And the most important thing to remember, and I mean the absolute most important thing...LEARN YOUR GEAR INSIDE OUT!!!!!!!