I need inspiration to write lyrics

Imy786

How do you all get inspiration to write songs?

I have been writing this R&B song for the last 2 months and have got really bad writers block at the moment and cant progress. I used to be able to write a good song in a day but can't do this anymore :cry:

Any advice is appreciated.

First write some poetry it dont gotta ryhme just pour ur heart out...then, Listen to maaad songs...and then, listen to one artists entire album like start to finish, or skip a track or two, but either way just listen to about 80 percent of the album...then ull start to have melodies and words in ur head that will come out in a certain way..the trick it gets u jump started...then after some more writing u take control. hope that helps

listen to a song that makes you think about life.

let your mind take you, and write about what your thinging about.

dont fight the topic its thinking about, let your emotions roll out

gingko biloba... not even kidding. add it to your daily diet.
as well, you can try a different "method" of writing.
how do you usually write? pen and paper?
try using Notepad on a computer instead. (or vice-versa)

something that sounds stupid but has been amazing for me personally... write while you're standing up. not sitting.

i'm the kind of guy who does his best thinking whlie pacing (i.e. standing and moving around, not sitting slumped over stagnant, know what i mean?)

those might be some things worth trying.

Inspiration often comes from other people... Try spoken word cafes, go to a comedy show, or some local rappers mixtape release party... It may sound crazy, but competition brings out the best.. Even if the rapper is "wack" in your opinion...

one thing i did was look up sayings or like quotes from confucious or a great philosopher and see how it relates to a situation youve had in your life that helped me the ideas just started flowing after awhile