general lyric writing tips?

fellowtraveler

some guy idk
i've never written lyrics to my own music before but i want to start heading down that avenue. any general tips for writing lyrics?

A lot of people have interesting approaches. Like some people write lyrics after looking at a painting or other things that draw inspiration. Just get out your pen and start jotting stuff down, don't worry if it sounds cheesy :) good luck!

Start with the shortest slogan possible, not a hook, just a little anchor to attach a chain to. Maybe it's an observation of something physical or a play on common wisdom. Now every link in the chain is somewhat the same, and leads to the next. To determine the length of the link, observe where it fits best in the beat. Stretch and repeat.

Like some people write lyrics after looking at a painting or other things that draw inspiration.
The absolute FIRST thing you should do is learn about song structure. I cannot stress this enough; it’s incredibly important. If your song has no structure, there’s nothing making the listener want to listen to it again. You know how sometimes you listen to a song (good or bad) and it’s stuck in your head for the rest of the day? That was done on purpose. A common song structure that’s easy to work with is: Verse, Chorus, Verse, Chorus, Bridge, Chorus. You can also add instrumentals here and there, especially before or after the bridge, before the first verse with that papers, and after the last chorus. Once you know about song structure, choose a general structure for your song. You can Google some basic ones if you don’t know any off the top of your head.

Last edited:
I think it's important to know the purpose of the lyrics. Should they be catchy? Should they convey something deeper? Should the be the main focus or just something that sounds good together with the rest?