Boom Bap i need some overall advice

TaylorV

so i've been at it making beats for about a year now. For me finding the sample is the best part. then trying to make heads bob with a drum beat is second best. I enjoy the process is what I'm saying I guess. anyways. I make the beat I think they sound good but when it comes to mixing and mastering I'm a complete noob. if anyone here could give me some advice, constructive criticism or links to articles related to the topic I would greatly appreciate it. I have watched tons and tons of youtube videos and read articles but nothing has mad it click for me yet. Thanks future producers.

also if the link isn't working let me know ill find another way to post it.

hostage party by Killa T. | Free Listening on SoundCloud

Last edited:
Best advice I can give is do not learn to mix and/or master if you do not enjoy it hence why I reiterate to people on here to leave it to those who do. I personally don't want to learn how to do so as I don't believe in wearing many hats.

isn't the goal to be self-sufficient? I enjoy trying to make my beats sound better but I hate spending a few hours trying to mix and then the end result being worse than when I started. I know I should have monitors too but I mix through headphones because my monitors are cheap and sound bad compared to my headphones.

Yeah, mixing and mastering might not be essential skills b/c you can shop them out, but if you're making boom-bap you have to be able to nail the drum sounds... that type of hip-hop is make or break when it comes to the drums. Mixing skills will help you get the kick, snare, and hats you need to give it that groove and punch.

It may not be 100% necessary but realize that the line between sound design and mixing is pretty blurry.

Sound design being the ability to make two kick drums sound good together and mixing being the ability to those two kicks sound good with a snare, hats, etc.?