New producer looking for feedback on first unfinished song

Xalser

For starters, I would like to state I am new to this.. So, be ready to hear a mashing mess of sounds. This is not finished so I am looking for feedback on the basic formation so far.

A little about me:

I am new to music production but have been writing songs for awhile and singing. I am more into pop but seem to like EDM for music production, as, that is all I know how to do so far. I hope to make something out of my skills. But, it is more secondary than anything. I go to university for Communications and Business.

https://soundcloud.com/user-836907094/possible-song1-sample-extended

1. I tried turning a base pattern into a mixture of multiple different types of patterns
2. I do know I need to work on my transitions and add some more sounds other than drums
3. My gut feels I can turn this into a great jam
4. I am unsure if I will add vocals

Thanks for reading, I hope I can get some input on suggestions or how I am doing so far for my first song attempt.

Last edited:
Did pretty good. Only suggestion for your track is the kick and the electro synth be notched down.
Pop is a part of edm isn't it? I could be wrong about that.

But yeah just two opinions electro synth and drums be lowered in volume alittle.

I had the suggestion to lower the drums. I will look into lowering the electro synth as well. I plan to add more sounds and change it up more before finishing it up and making it a full length song. Thanks for the suggestions and comments.

And yes, it is a part of it.. just haven't figured how I will merge it to sound right quite yet.

Last edited:
Cool stuff! You have a lot of different beats going on here, which is cool, but it is easy to make it too chaotic. I would suggest making your arrangement more "defined". Here are a few things that can help:

-Use transitions to make it obvious your switching it up [ex. rising tone, drum fills, introducing new sounds, rising white noise]