Where do you start?

TaylorV

Hey guys, first post so please excuse my lack of etiquette. I have a few questions tho . When you're chopping samples do you find just a chunk of the song you want to sample or do you attack the song as a whole to find your chops? Also how do you use multiple samples? I understand key signatures and all that I just feel like when I try it the samples sound completely different even if it's two different samples hitting an A note. I feel like I'm stuck doing simple chops or loops. (All my samples are coming from vinyl I hear there's a separation between e-diggers and crate diggers?) I'm relatively new to making beats about a year now. Most of that time figuring out my DAW. but I've been a musician for 12 years. Started on drums now I mainly play bass. I find beat making to be a good way for me to make music by myself plus who doesn't like a good sampled beat???
Thanks again for any input and sorry for the long unorganized post.

Ive done sampled beats for like 8-9 years and played piano for 3-4 years yeah some stuff just doesnt fit, even tho it works from a music theory standpoint. EQing and filtering helps but you should also consider which frequency spectrum the new sample covers - if it interferes with the first sample problems may occur (you can work around them tho).

But to answer your question: I start with the sample usually, pitch/chop/rearrange it to where i think it sounds the best, then add drums to ehance the groove. Then i add a bassline and perhaps some rhodes. Then theres two ways i go at it; i may know a record that has a cool open sample like a sax that i know would fit well, but sometimes i just go to the crates and see what i come across.

A lot of vinyl samples are detuned tho so be careful for that.

Feel free to check out my soundcloud and ask directed questions, i dont mind.