One thing about sampling

kmano

To all the guys who sample for a long time - would you say sampling is hard or easy? Even though Im new to all this, I think and most important I FEEL that Im starting to get what it's all about. Im not sayin that I mastered the sampling or even that Im good at it - because right now Im not, I just want to say that when you learn HOW to technically sample, it becomes much more easier than you think it is. It's jus couple of things you gotta follow, chop in certain places, arrange it, loop the best part, etc etc.. But after that, when you know the basics - which are not that hard as you might think, the hardest chapter begins - your creativity. Because I think everybody can learn how to sample the song and how to chop it, but only a few can make it sound special and great, and that's why your creativity and your vision is much more important than sampling itself. I played football for a long time and there was saying like this: all the team can play football, but most of the players are just foot-soldiers, and only a few are football ARTISTS. So, the same with the sampling :) You gotta dedicate to it and think for a bit longer time to make something real intresting.

Im not someone who should learn or give advices since Im just starting, but I just got those few thoughts I wanted to share with you FP :)

I started out on an old Akai rack sampler and once you have defeated that blue back light in a staring contest it's soul becomes yours.

It isn't easy to make a sample your own.

If someone hears a beat they've never heard before and immediately knows who was behind the production...that is when you know they are doing shit right.