Newbie question... Looking for samples online?

plotneezy

Hello! I'm very new to producing, and this is only my second day digging for samples. Anyways, I've been digging all day online (I have no record store near me, and even if I did I'm 14 so I can't drive), looking on lp cover art sites for ideas, just googling stuff, going on discogs and the-breaks, watching Youtube videos, but I'm just not finding any samples which pop out to me. So, how do you guys find your samples on the net? Sorry if this is a stupid question, but I'm really new to this.

When I was Dl'ing my samples off the net (ages ago) I had a few different methods..

Alot of consignment stores are full of records too.. When I wasnt driving, my grandma knew I was into vinyl so she would bring me home the most random cool shit after she went out thrift store shopping....

Youtube can be a great place to discover artists to sample too. If you hear an album you like from a particular artist. Try and pull up a zip or rar from them off filecrop.com.

Last edited:
Also try Spotify or Rdio. Rdio won't release there streaming bitrate info, but I know the premium version of Spotify streams in 320kbps. The free version I believe is 64kbps and if that's enough for you then go for it.

throw all of the previous comments out the window my dude. take it from someone who's been down that road.... start digging for records NOW! save your lunch money (you think i'm joking, but i'm serious). I'm not telling you to dig ONLY for the fact of having samples.... but mainly to gain music knowledge. It sounds soo ****ing cliche, i know... trust me i do. But if you want to perfect your craft, if you want to be immortal in music... you have to study what has worked in the past. I KNOW it doesnt seem like that matters now... but in time you will understand. I'm not telling you to torture yourself with records that you cant afford.