how to make a sample song sound like a hit

• Thread starter Vizion:Mizfitzsoundz
  • Start date
V

Vizion:Mizfitzsoundz

im a sample based producer and for some reason i cant make my samples sound like comercial hit like how jus balze or kanye do

ps. im not tryin to copy there style

hey in his defense, kanye and just both bit off of RZA and Pete Rock. Everybody got start somewhere to keep this hiphop **** moving. Now back to your question, u gotta keep in mind dat kanyes and just blazes sampled songs are professionally mixed and mastered and dats why they sound the way they do.

Last edited:
my stlyle is way different ...i jus have buyers who need a comercial feel

This reminds me off another thread. Mixing is an art all by itself, not to mention the equipment these people use makes me have wet dreams. So, I am not sure if you are saying the quality isn't good enough production wise or creatively speaking the work is weak. I have spent a lot of time imitating people I admire when I play blues on the piano, it's all a cycle you can use elements of whatever and it doesn't mean you are trying to sound like someone else. When you start out you hope to mimic in a sense the people who got you interested in making beats in the 1st place. Maybe I am putting my foot in my mouth because again it's unclear if you need higher Mastering skills and well...equipment. Or if you are trying to get a pop or more commercial sound and that's what you are worrying about...I personally don't think you can even make things sound "commercial" neccesarily because nowdays, anything can become popular and then the art form grows. It is sad but I walk into the gap or whatever with my girl and they are now playing a CD that I might have on Vinyl... F**ck it, just do what you do and try to keep your style and idenity, good luck and no matter what keep up your discipline and determination. You will get what you are trying to create... Peace!
MAW