What db should i mix at?

wavewar3

I'm pretty new to the mixing world. I use fl studio. I think the meter to the right of fl's mixer is the peak meter , and I guess when people say your highest kick should be ___ or ____,they refer to that meter. I finished a dynamic processor series from lynda.com and have seen a little bit of their eq and filter series. Besides those two things , I have no clue about other mixing techniques or even where to learn. Also , what's the difference between db and dbfs? I've been given links but I was just confused while reading them. Except one that said db only measures the difference between two sounds and it's not right to say that, 'a rock concerts average db is ___ db'. and dbfs is decibels in relation to 0 db(i guess the maximum db a system can handle before clipping). Not sure if that was accurate, but would really like an explanation.

actually. a guy on my last thread posted a good explaination on the difference between db and dbfs. just confused on one thing. monster cat said as a tip 'the loudest sound in your track should be your kick , no louder than 8db'. do they mean -8dbfs?

dB is more informal language and difference between two different volumes and so on (for example boost a sound with 6 dB and it will double in perceived volume).

dBFS is how far the sound is from absolute zero in the digital domain (before it clips), such as the kick is peaking at -12 dBFS, so if you boost it more than 12 dB it will clip (except if you're in 32-bit).
Then if you go into the analog domain, you'll see the term dBVU, which refers to the analog "sweetspot"-volume (which equals to -18 dBFS).

When talking about dB's in the real life (such as your rock concert example), you use the term dBSPL, which simply means the loudness/pressure of sound (0 dBSPL = no sound).