Thoughts on this bass?

I don't take for granted the opportunities to practice Indaba grants me so I'll try my hands at anything I can. The latest project I got a stem out for a song called "You Think You Know" by a band called "Device", and really they are wanting "remixes", but I'm more interested in trying to "re-mix" instead if that makes any sense.

I've gotten to work and I got a mixdown/master I'm working with and now that I think about it, it seems to be that the bass may be a bit too heavy and overpowering. I don't have quality monitors to mix on, so I tend to get paranoid of things like this. Maybe someone else can give it a listen and tell me how the bass sounds for them, or any other critique is welcome as well. I've included the mixdown and original as a high quality mp3.

I'll return feedback for feedback if asked.
Thanks.
View attachment You Think (Before).mp3 View attachment You Think (Mix_Master).mp3

Last edited:
Bass is fine man.

Why are the vocals so low? Did you do that so we could focus on the bass? In addition, the hook has a lot of sibilance that needs to be tamed.

ETA: There is only one file "You think Original" where is the after file?

Last edited:
Strange, I uploaded two files and I made sure I was able to download them before leaving the thread. Can you see them now? One is "You Think (Before)" the other is "You Think (Mix_Master)".

I was planning on bringing vocals out in the mix more with some additional processing but I already had a bunch of plugs running on my mixer. My waves plugins tend to get buggy or crash a lot, especially after I load more of them.

I think what you're actually hearing is a background vocal stem provided. The strange thing about this was they didn't provide a lead vocal. In the after file I cut out all the vocals except the chorus (which is louder).

Both are showing up now.