A source of audio hardware information?

Simplex1z

Is there a source (like a website, a course or a book) of information about audio hardware you can recommend? Information about things like I/O types, hardware types (amps, audio interfaces etc.) and so on.

I've been producing for about 3 years now and have only used a DAW and studio headphones. I was thinking of buying an audio interface to get a clearer output, but after some googling I realized that audio hardware is far more complex than I thought. There are so many input/output types I never knew existed. If I were to get a set of monitors, I'd have no idea where to plug them in or even what type of connector is needed to plug them in (I assume you don't use a 3.5mm jack for monitors). So far I haven't found any place online that clearly explains how this stuff works, only small bits of information on certain products.
Thanks!

Digital signal processing guides.
Control Voltage [If you use that type of software] manuals.
Audio interface lists abundant in the search function.

On & off prod since 2010. Learned some theory and some instruments along the way.

In the description of the monitors it will likely say what cable they will use, the're almost all either XLR or 1/4 inch line or have options for both. Most interfaces will have 1 or both of those if they have both u can use either cable to hook them up.

Last edited:
SoundonSound dot com. I can't think of a better magazine and they sell their own books! Not to mention web version can be read online.
Common connections are via jack (which can be easily unplugged) or XLR that has a lock, perhaps.

ya, studio monitors are connected through the outputs

For your speakers, follow this pattern:
Mixer bus (aka the master track) of you DAW mixer ---> Audio Interface, Audio Interface Outputs --> Studio Monitors

*Make sure you computer's audio settings and your DAWs audio settings are both selecting your audio interface.