Recording R&B Vocals

music_life73

I am about to record some R&B vocals. I am relatively new to recording. I have a small effective set up:
-M-Box 2
-Pro-Tools
-Phantom Powered Condenser Mic
-AudioBuddy Pre-Amp

I wanted to know if there is a formula. How many stacks should there be for bg's? Is a Compressor needed? What eq settings and plug-ins should Be used? How should I set the leads?
Any advice is appreciated. Thanks

I usually compress vocals a bit, and eq to preference. Then I get a ballpark mix, fine tune, and lastly automate the vocals - ride them the entire song so they are exactly where you want them.

Thanks 4 replying. So are you using the standard plug-ins for compression and automate, or do you have added on features or hardware? Do I should buy a compressor to get quality sound? Also, what are you using to auto-tune it?

The built-in PTLE plugins aren't *great*, but they're a good learning experience if nothing else, meaning if you learn to get decent sound on crappy equipment/plugins, you'll get *great* sound out of good equipment when you can afford it. That said, I can usually get what I want (within reason) out of the stock Compression and EQ-III.

Automation is built in to Protools; no need to buy anything extra there.

I use Antares AutoTune. Excellent software, but only if you 1) know how to use it, and 2) have a good vocalist. I use AutoTune in manual, AudioSuite mode only. It's not a band-aid, but an afterburner; it makes an already-good vocal sound great, especially if there is harmony to match.

That's what's up. I have a really good vocalist, but I know an autotune program will probably make the vocals even tighter. How much is the Antares AutoTune program? Is the compressor easy to use? Do u record r&B?

I do mostly rock and alternative, some acoustic stuff too.

The compressor has the common compression controls; how easy it is depends on how well you know compressors and how to use them.