Producing in the studio for rappers?

I've been producing for about 4 years and am just now confident enough in my work to start the networking/business/selling part of it. Most of the underground rappers I've reached out to already have close relationships with exclusive producers, so I've been trying to find up and comers who don't have exclusive producers like that. I finally found one...and he lives in my hometown! He's on hnhh, datpiff, countless rap blogs, and his soundcloud is still <5,000 followers so I feel like this is my chance. I've never been to a music studio before, (bedroom producers ftw), and I want to hit him up to try and work with him but I feel like once he finds out we live in the same city he'll just ask me to come to the studio and make beats on the spot for him, and I'm super nervous about that. I've never been in a studio, I've never worked with a rapper, and I've never been put on the spot like that to produce and it doesn't help that I have bad performance anxiety (used to take medication for it when I was an athlete).

I guess I would like to hear some opinions/feedback on my situation and some tips from you producers who have worked in the studio with rappers.
And also, if this ends up working out and I start producing for him in the studio on the reg, do I charge him? Do producers charge rappers if they're working pretty much exclusively?

That is probably as well equipped as you. ;)

Means he has a budget mic and records in his living room/ bedroom.

And if you never make the first step... I think you get me. :)

Connect with him, be straight, be friendly, it's all about communication.