Producers Role

Torrio

Now when I produce a song, I want to be there through the whole process as far as making the track, recording the vocals for the artists and I want to be the one to mix the song as well.

Many producers these days do not do this. What are everyone's feelings on this?
Should a "producer" of a song be there from start to finish or is just sending beats in mp3 through email acceptable?

theres a diff. between producer and beatmaker. basically do w.e u want if your allowed to.

Last edited:
My opinion is NO you should not be there during the whole process. My view may differ from most on this site, but as an engineer I would hate the producer of the track looking over my shoulder as I work. I am sure it would be the same for a M.E. if I was watching over his should as he worked. The track should be handed off at each stage and allow that person to do what they do best. Once the track is recorded then the artist and producer are out of the picture. Then the audio engineer works on the track and does his or her thing. Next you hand it to the M.E. and the engineer is out of the picture. The best product happens when everyone is allowed to do what they do best.

Last edited by a moderator:
during the recording process the producer should be there...
but then you as a professional artist and professional producer should have a network of professional mix engineers and professional mastering engineers your trust with your work and pass it on ... now the producer should review the work once done and either approve of it or ask the mixing engineer hey can you put more reverb on this on that...

but the game now is alot of producers are also mixing engineers
myself too
but I would never,ever,never,ever master my own stuff....
fresh ears...fresh professional song,including tracking list encoding for CD,vinyl presssing

as a producer I want to produce a whole project maybe a couple songs produced by a few others....

All good points!